Speeding is a misdemeanor in Georgia. As such, it generally carries a punishment which can range up to 12 months of incarceration and a $1,000 fine. Obviously, most court dispositions of speeding offenses involve no jail time and lower than the maximum fine.
Am I allowed to drive 5 mph over the speed limit in Georgia? The speed limit in all states are as posted. No one is allowed to drive above the posted speed limit without the risk of a traffic citation.